New EU Space Programme offers Opportunities for the Zuid-Holland Space Cluster

Estonian Andres Jaadla's report on a new EU space policy was adopted during the plenary session of the Committee of the Regions. The division of the tasks among the European Committees, the Member States, European Space Agency (ESA) and the new EU Space Programme Agency can be much improved. Furthermore, Zuid-Holland has requested the appointment of a specific position within Horizon Europe for space research.

“A joint European investment in space technology offers added value to European regions and to Zuid-Holland in particular. My colleague Adri Bom-Lemstra and I actively pursue more jobs and economic growth in the Zuid-Holland space cluster, both in Zuid-Holland and in Brussels.”

€16 billion for EU Space Programme

€16 billion will be made available for the new EU space programme in the 2021-2027 period. This proposal is part of the set of proposals made by the European Committee in the framework of the Multiannual Financial Framework for 2021-2027. The proposal comprises the establishment of one space programme for the EU. The EU space programme consists of various programme components: the existing satellite navigation programmes GNSS and EGNOS and earth observation programme Copernicus, and the 2 new programmes Governmental Satellite Communications GOVSATCOM (government satellite communication) and Space Situational Awareness SSA (space monitoring).

Aerospace in Zuid-Holland

An important part of the aerospace sector is the aerospace cluster, situated in the ‘aerospace diamond’ Noordwijk-Leiden-The Hague-Delft. 80% of the aerospace activities in The Netherlands take place in Zuid-Holland. The European Space Research Technology Centre (ESTEC) of the ESA, established in Noordwijk since 1968, is the largest ESA location and the technological heart of the European aerospace. To realise high-quality scientific research, contribute to a healthy space sector, apply satellite data and signals where possible and maintain the main branch of ESA in The Netherlands (ESEC) are The Netherlands’ four targets regarding our National Aerospace Policy.