Jeannette Baljeu Elected as the New Chair of the Rhine-Alpine Corridor EGTC

On 12 May 2021, the members of the Rhine-Alpine Corridor EGTC elected Jeannette Baljeu unanimously as the new Chair of the EGTC at their 13th Assembly meeting. The election period lasts for three years until 2024. Mrs. Jeannette Baljeu is regional minister of the Dutch province of South Holland for European and international affairs, water including inland navigation, finance and the transition of port and industry. Mrs. Baljeu is as well an active member of the Committee of Regions and of the political office of the CPMR, Conference of the Peripheral and Maritime Regions.

The current Vice Chairs Paolo Balistreri (IT) and Rouven Kötter (DE) were re-elected unanimously.

The Assembly heartily thanked the former Chair, Christianne van der Wal for her energetic and successful commitment for the EGTC despite the fact that almost two years of her election period coincided with the pandemic.

Jörg Saalbach, Director of the EGTC, presented the Activity Report 2020 by emphasizing that the EGTC has successfully continued its manifold Corridor-wide activities. With its 26 members, the EGTC has grown again and is actively participating in EU funded projects. Despite the pandemic, the Corridor community kept on cooperating and stayed closely connected, which in particular was feasible thanks to the new the digital event format “Rhine-Alpine Talks” taking place in a monthly rhythm.

The Assembly also decided about the procedure for the recruitment of the management team which will be in operation from 2022 onwards.