European Networks


Conference of Peripheral Maritime Regions (CPMR)

CPMR is a European network that aims to influence European policies with a territorial impact. The main focus is on social, economic and territorial cohesion, maritime policy, transport and accessibility. Within CPMR, Zuid-Holland forms part of the North Sea Commission.

Europa Decentraal

Europa decentraal

Europa decentraal is the local and regional authorities’ premier knowledge centre for queries concerning European law and legislation. It keeps Dutch local and regional authorities informed on issues such as the environment, culture and education and the freedom of movement.

Vanguard Initiave

The Vanguard Initiative

The Vanguard Initiative embraces Smart Specialisation Strategies (S3) to boost growth through entrepreneurial innovation and industrial renewal, in particular through pilots and large-scale demonstrators. The Randstad Region is leading a bio-based economy pilot.

BioBased Delta

Biobased Delta

Biobased Delta is an initiative in which the Dutch provinces of Zeeland, Noord-Brabant and Zuid-Holland seek to stimulate a bio-based economy in partnership with SMEs, multinationals and knowledge institutes. Biobased Delta sets up exchange programmes with foreign regions and promotes the circular economy in Brussels.


Trans-European Transport Network (TEN-T)

A well-functioning transport infrastructure network is essential to preserve European prosperity and competitiveness. The TEN-T policy supports the implementation of 30 priority projects crucial to facilitating the mobility of goods and people within the European Union.


European Grouping of Territorial Cooperation Rhine-Alpine (EGTC).

The EGTC Rhine-Alpine network organisation was founded to represent regional interests in the development of the corridor between Rotterdam and Genoa, to develop joint projects, to share knowledge and to represent the regions in the formation of the European corridor.

Smart Cities and Communities

European Innovation Partnerships (EIP’s): Smart Cities and Communities

The European Innovation Partnership on Smart Cities and Communities (EIP-SCC) brings cities, industry, SMEs and other smart city actors together in order to improve urban life through integrated smart city solutions, networking and partnering, accumulating knowledge and facilitating the exchange of information, and focusing on the intersection of energy, ICT and transport.

EPI -Water

European Innovation Partnerships (EIP’s): Energy and Water

The aims of the EIP Water are to facilitate the development of innovative solutions with respect to major European and global water challenges, and simultaneously, support the creation of market opportunities for these innovations, both inside and outside Europe.

EPI -Agri

European Innovation Partnerships (EIP’s): Agricultural Sustainability and Productivity

The Agricultural European Innovation Partnership (EIP-AGRI) promotes a competitive and sustainable agriculture and forestry sector that 'achieves more and better results with less'. It contributes to ensuring a steady supply of food, feed and biomaterials, developing its work in harmony with the essential natural resources on which farming depends.


European Regions Research and Innovation Network (ERRIN)

ERRIN is a European network that aims to strengthen regional research and innovation. ERRIN consists of 14 working groups that each focus on a wide range of policy areas such as the Water group, the Health group and the Energy & Climate Change group. The province of Zuid-Holland is represented in ERRIN by the Randstad Region in Brussels..

Vlaams Nederlandse Delta

Vlaams-Nederlandse Delta

Vlaams-Nederlandse Delta is a Flemish-Dutch partnership: the provinces of Antwerp, Noord-Brabant, Oost-Vlaanderen, West-Vlaanderen, Zeeland and Zuid-Holland. Their aim is to work with the cities, seaports, businesses and knowledge institutes to facilitate projects for the economic-logistical development of the region.


ERIAFF (European Regions for Innovation in Agriculture, Food and Forestry)

ERIAFF strives to influence the work of the European Innovation Partnership (EIP) Agricultural Productivity and Sustainability. The participating regions actively collaborate together in defining common views to Europe's policies and funding on agriculture, forestry and food sectors.


Air Quality Initiative of Regions (AIR)

AIR is a network of 13 regions that seeks to enhance air quality. Zuid-Holland represents the Randstad Region in this network. AIR aims to promote the exchange of ‘best practices’ and to make an active contribution to the Air Quality Directive revision process, for example by emphasising that the revised Air Quality Directive must leave sufficient room for specific regional characteristics.


Council of European Municipalities and Regions (CEMR)

CEMR, the Council of European Municipalities and Regions, represents the interests of European local authorities and their associations in more than 40 countries. It promotes citizenship and exchange between elected representatives. The CEMR has two objectives: to influence European policy and regulations, and to provide a forum for debate.


North Sea Region Programme (NSRP)

The NSRP is an Interreg programme that runs from 2014 to 2020 and aims to transform the North Sea coastal regions into sustainable and strong economies and communities. The programme makes funding available for new and existing projects and solutions for societal challenges in the coastal regions.

fch ju


The Fuel Cells and Hydrogen Joint Undertaking (FCH JU) is a public private partnership supporting research, technological development and demonstration (RTD) activities in fuel cell and hydrogen energy technologies in Europe. Its aim is to accelerate the market introduction of these technologies, realising their potential as an instrument in achieving a carbon-lean energy system.